Samuel Ward Academy is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, young people and vulnerable adults and expect all staff and volunteers to share this commitment

Concerned about a child

If you have a concern regarding the safety or welfare of a child, please contact a member of the Safeguarding Team on 01440 761511, or on their email address as listed below. Alternatively, you can call Children and Young People's Service directly and anonymously on 0808 800 4005.

For further information, please see our Safeguarding and Online Safety Policies under the policies section.

Samuel Ward Academy Safeguarding Team

Name Position Role Contact
Mr. A Hunter Headteacher Headteacher, Alternate Designated Safeguarding Lead head@samuelward.co.uk
Miss J Powell  Assistant Headteacher Designated Safeguarding Lead jpowell@samuelward.co.uk
Miss M Coe Inclusion Officer Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead mcoe@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs G Wheeler Inclusion Officer Alternate Safeguarding Lead gwheeler@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs E Chilvers Inclusion Officer Alternate Safeguarding Lead
Mrs S Cripps Inclusion Officer Alternate Designated Lead scripps@samuelward.co.uk
Miss S Ireland Behaviour Lead Alternate Safeguarding Lead / Designated teacher for Children in Care sireland@samuelward.co.uk
Miss J Bush Inclusion Officer Alternate  Safeguarding Lead jbush@samuelward.co.uk
Mr H Ford Inclusion Officer Alternate  Safeguarding Lead hford@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs R Jarvis Study Room Leader Alternate Safeguarding Lead Rjarvis@samuelward.co.uk
Mrs S Kehr Safeguarding Governor Chair of Local Governing Body skehr@samuelward.co.uk
Mr S Astley Senior Director of Education  USP Senior Director of Education 

sastley@unitysp.co.uk

Children in Care

Samuel Ward adopts a fully inclusive approach to Children in Care and has a strong reputation for promoting the welfare and achievement of these pupils across the region.

The Designated Teacher for Children in Care is Miss Ireland.  She can be contacted via 01440 761511 or sireland@samuelward.co.uk

Advice for parents about how to help their children use social media safely